IKIF (Thursday)

July 23, 2009

Six o’clock. Levyatov. Wow. For the first time, I get how great a piece the Carnaval is. To me, Levyatov is a very special artist. Young as he is, I feel privileged to be at his recital. The whole experience feels rare, fragile and extraordinary. During the Schumann, he gives the impression of a madman. I don’t know if Levyatov really is mad, or he’s putting us on, or if he ‘becomes Schumann’ to play the Carnaval. I do know he casts a spell.

I haven’t heard any other young pianist create such beauty. Au bord d’une source — when the day comes and they read me my last rites, this is the music I want in my ears as I leave the earth. Levyatov plays Liszt like God’s grace, the doorway from life to spirit.

At 8:30, a fully requitted love affair between Joaquin Achucarro and his audience. It’s just been an outstanding musical day.

Leave a Reply

